



FROM GATT TO THE WORLD TRADE ORGANIZATION

GW/13 4 January 1995

THE WORLD TRADE ORGANIZATION IS LAUNCHED WITH 81 MEMBERS

The new World Trade Organization (WTO) came into force on 1 January 1995 with 81 member countries and territories from all regions of the globe representing over 90 per cent of international trade in goods and services. Almost 50 other countries are in a position to join the WTO in the near future.

The 81 members comprise 53 developing or least-developed economies, 25 developed countries and 3 economies in transition. Of the 49 countries which are currently in the process of joining, 9 have accepted the WTO and are due to become members as soon as they have completed the verification of their market access commitments; 38 are completing their domestic ratification procedures for accepting the WTO; and Algeria and China whose terms of membership are still to be finalized.

MORE

95-0004

WTO MEMBERSHIP AS AT 1 JANUARY 1995 (81)

Greece

Guyana

Honduras

Hungary

Hong Kong

Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Australia Austria Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belgium Belize Botswana Brazil Brunei Darussalam Canada Chile Colombia

Iceland India Indonesia Ireland Italy Japan Kenya Korea Kuwait Lesotho Luxembourg Macau Costa Rica Malawi Malaysia Côte d'Ivoire Malta Czech Republic Mauritania Denmark Mauritius Dominica Mexico European Communities Morocco Finland Myanmar France Namibia Gabon Netherlands Germany

Nigeria Norway Pakistan Paraguay Peru Philippines Portugal Romania St. Lucia St. Vincent and the

Grenadines Senegal Singapore Slovak Republic South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Suriname Swaziland Sweden Tanzania Thailand Uganda

United Kingdom United States Uruguay Venezuela Zambia

PARTICIPANTS WHO HAVE ACCEPTED THE WTO AND WHOSE SCHEDULES ARE BEING VERIFIED (9)

Central African Republic

Chad

Guinea Bissau Maldives

New Zealand

Mozambique Papua New Guinea

Grenada

Ghana

Mali

Qatar

PARTICIPANTS IN THE PROCESS OF DOMESTIC RATIFICATION (38)

Angola Benin Bolivia Burkina Faso Burundi Cameroon

Congo Cuba Cyprus Diibouti

Dominican Republic Egypt El Salvador

Fiji Gambia Guatemala Guinea Haiti Israel Jamaica Lichenstein Madagascar Nicaragua Niger Poland Rwanda

Sierra Leone Slovenia Solomon Islands St. Kitts and Nevis Switzerland

Togo

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisia Turkey

United Arab Emirates

Zaire Zimbabwe

Algeria and China: their terms of membership are still to be finalized.